Listening [Psalm 116:2]

It’s been awhile since I’ve written on my blog. The last series going through the book of Matthew was a soothing time in my life and helped me refresh on the Gospel. Since then, I have been jumping around through devotionals, the psalms, and Romans (one of my favorite shorter books of the Bible). I found a piece of a psalm that stuck with me and thought I would share, so, Psalm 116:2 “Because he turned his ear to me, I will call on him as long as I live(NIV)”…Or the version I find more applicable,  “Because he bends down to listen, I will pray as long as I have breath (NLT).” It can be a struggle to get in the habit of praying “religiously” (and by religiously I mean all the time and thoughtfully). One way to keep me on track lately has been this verse which simply has been engraved in my brain since I read it. I picture how near God can be to us in prayer. The words in the NLT version which say God is bending down to listen gives the closeness we long for when we are in prayer, in communication with Him. This verse reminds me to pray, as well as sets my prayers up to be more intentional because I think of Him literally kneeling in front of me listening to every last word I say. You could say that is silly, but I feel like my prayers are being heard, and it boosts my eagerness to be close to God and give up more things to Him through prayer. He is near when we call on Him, but more importantly for you and I to know is that He is near even when we don’t trust that everything is ok, or when we are having a rough day, or when we don’t feel like praying. How great of a love. He is love. So then, Because he bends down to listen, I will pray as long as I have breath… I pray for friends, family, salvation for those who still aren’t sure of the faith they could have, I pray for healing, patience, humbleness, and also rejoices…because he bends down to listen…

Short and sweet thoughts for this Wednesday night, hope you enjoyed.

