Our worth [Isaiah 13:12]

  • Isaiah 13:12 “I will make a man more precious than fine gold; even a man than the golden wedge of Ophir.”
  • Psalm 139:13-15 “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.”

If these two passages don’t tell you how much you are truly worth I don’t know what will. I have struggled with my worth a little bit lately and what it looks like to truly be priceless but these verses truly remind me how much God loves us and how much we cost Him. God sacrificed His Only Son… for us. He says we are more precious than gold. I’m just saying Gold is expensive… 😉

Sometimes in earthly relationships we feel small, maybe undeserving? We deal with more than we should have to. We settle. We think less of ourselves than we should. We continue to be in relationships (friends or significant others) that aren’t fulfilling. This could be because we are asking too much of people and we in fact have the same traits we don’t like in the other person… or in fact you are worth more, and you deserve better.

Now now, I don’t want this post to break people up or ruin friendships but rather be an encourager to change unhealthy self worth. We can all improve to be more like Christ and have more realistic expectations of each other in the eyes of Christ himself. Let’s stop being stubborn, listen to one another, and most importantly see each other and ourselves as precious Gold. We ALL are created by God and made so, uniquely. We are worth a lot to the Lord yet we fail him everyday which is bizarre to me but very I am so very thankful for that.

Maybe we need to treat each other like the Lord treats us- we are worth more than Gold because we are created by God.

On another note, as far as self worth is concerned: are you finding your worth in God or in this world? If you are finding it in earthly things you are concerned with body shape and physical beauty, popularity, your intellectual or physical abilities, or your “stuff” (wealth). Let go of those things and just be you. Find your worth in what God has created you for. Don’t base your worth on what how others see you, base it off of living as God intended you to. Find your worth in Him and you will always be worth more than Gold. 

Live up to what God created us to be.

