“All Things” [1 Thes. 5:18]

Today I am writing about a song that I wanted to share with you all. The song is called “All Things” by Citizen Way and I can’t stop listening to it. Listen to it before you read this blog, it will just take a minute and I will provide the link to youtube for ya here: CLICK HERE 🙂

Anytime I hear this song it never disappoints. Don’t get me wrong their whole cd, “Love Is The Evidence,” is good, but this one always gets to me. On another note before I go off talking about the song, I wanted to say that this band originated from my college and hence I have listened to many of their songs whether it be on the radio, their cd, or in person when they perform in chapel once in awhile for Judson. So I’m saying here, if you haven’t already, check them out on iTunes.

So this song… “All Things”… It reminds me that God has got it all. Everything. A few lines that stick out to me the most are (1) “And I’m ashamed how I complain everyday about things that don’t matter anyway” and (2) “Give thanks to the One who meets our need before we know we even need it.”  

No matter what kind of day I am having, good or bad, this song is relevant and makes me feel secure in whatever spot of life I am in. Whether you can relate to the girl on the street, the cancer patient, or the single mom, or just your average joe, I will be praying that we can ALL see that in ALL things God cares for us. Even in the crazy circumstances of life we don’t understand there are things to thank Him for and it is important to ultimately know He has a plan and loves us all. Every day, and in every circumstance… all things our life has for us, He is there whether we want to believe that or not. The girl on the street in the song believed God takes care of her even though she is homeless… will you?

The verses this song made me think of were Psalm 107:1, 1 Thessalonians 5:18, and Romans 8:28. And I hope that this is what Citizen Way was thinking too, if not I do not want to put words in their mouths but I don’t think it is too far off if it is not the exact verses they chose.

  • Psalm 107:1 “Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good and His love endures forever.”
  • 1 Thessalonians 5:18“In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”
  • Romans 8:28“And we know that all things work together for good to those that love God, to those who are the called according to his purpose.”

*Here are the lyrics if you would like to read through them as well. And no, I did not write or take credit for this song in any way but wanted to share with you all.*

I met a woman down the street at the park where my kids play
She was living underneath the trees because it’s pretty hard to find a job these days
We talked about the ups and downs of her life
As the tears filled her eyes she smiled and said something I will never forget

That in all things, all things
Give thanks to the One
Who meets our need before we know we even need it
Because all things are all the things I just can’t handle
So I hand it to the One who takes care of all things

Tweet tweet tweet way up high in the sky fly the little birds
(Without a care in the world)
And how much more does our Father provide for the ones He loves
And I’m ashamed how I complain everyday about things that don’t matter anyway
And it makes me think of the woman down the street who said

In all things, all things
Give thanks to the One
Who meets our need before we know we even need it
Because all things are all the things I just can’t handle
So I hand it to the One who takes care of all things

To the scared soldier there on the front lines
To the cancer patient running out of time
To the father afraid he’s gonna lose it all
To the single mom who doesn’t even know where to start
To the ones who think they’re all out of hope
To the ones who know the sting of death and feel all alone
Cast your cares for He cares for us
And there’s nothing in this life that’s bigger
Bigger than His love

I have a reason to, in all things, all things
Give thanks to the One
Who meets our need before we know we even need it
Because all things are all the things I just can’t handle
So I hand it to the One who takes care of all things

All things, all things
I know You’re taking care of all things, all things
I’m gonna cast to You

