“Actions Speak…” debrief [Romans 5:6-8]

[CLICK HERE!] for the sermon which I am debriefing on today. This message is spoken to us today by Rev. Gregg Bowen who spoke at Immanuel Lutheran Church in East Dundee IL. The sermon is titled “Actions Speak… Louder Than Words.”

So here it goes… My word should mean something, and be backed up by my actions, right? But more important than the words spewed from my mouth are my actions- we will be judged more so on our actions.

As Gregg says in the sermon, Don’t just talk the talk, walk the walk. And as his example stated “Dad, don’t you trust me?” The reaction was more powerful than the words saying “I do.” My reaction did not match my words, says Gregg. I believe if my words don’t match how I am living my life I am ultimately cheating myself and potentially hurting others with the unfilled promises I make them. No one wants to be that person, I sure don’t, but I will tell you that I have been that person before and probably will slip up and do something like that again, shamelessly so.

The good news? We have a God who takes action for us and reactions are for us. His actions highlight His words!

Once in awhile it is good to confess with our lips who Jesus is and what He has done for us (His actions) SO THAT we can meditate on those words we speak and react to them. The words in the Bible are not only words they have already been lived out for us. Yet we question who God is, who Jesus is, what He has done, what He will do… What a mistake I have made and maybe many other Christians have made. God already walked the walk so HE CAN talk the talk, in His words to us via the Holy Bible.

How do I live up to the words He asks us to partake in the Bible? Do I give wholeheartedly, trust in Him fully, or follow through on my own words with actions? I can tell you honestly, not all the time. The goal is to match the words I speak in the nicene creed (below) and live them out in my every day life, outside the church walls indeed.

An interesting part to this sermon, although most christians have heard it time and time again, we must remember that God sent His only Son for US…[but then remember this part?] WHILE we are still sinners. God is already impressed by us because we are His. Somehow we want to go through life not believing that, myself included. Wow those are some actions God is living through. I know I am blessed and have much to be thankful for even though I am a sinner. This is a reminder that God is the ultimate example of Actions speaking louder than words. Hell is not an option for us only because Jesus. As Rev. Gregg says, “THAT is love for us today, tomorrow, and until our last breath.” 

So, with those words in mind, I pray that I will be reminded of this as I try to live my life as a Christian best I can. We, myself included, need to become more mature in our faith and stop questioning it so much as well. His Actions have already happened, and He has given us words to lean on. Maturity in faith is not only talking the talk, but walking the walk.

  • Romans 5:6-8 “You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”
  • John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”
  • 2 Cor. 1:20-22 “For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God. Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.”
  • Nicene Creed–  We believe in one God, the Father, the Almighty, maker of heaven and earth, of all that is, seen and unseen. We believe in one Lord, Jesus Christ, the only Son of God, eternally begotten of the Father, God from God, Light from Light, true God from true God, begotten, not made, of one Being with the Father. Through him all things were made. For us and for our salvation he came down from heaven: by the power of the Holy Spirit he became incarnate from the Virgin Mary, and was made man. For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate; he suffered death and was buried. On the third day he rose again in accordance with the Scriptures; he ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father. He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead, and his kingdom will have no end. We believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of life, who proceeds from the Father and the Son. With the Father and the Son he is worshiped and glorified. He has spoken through the Prophets. We believe in one holy christian and apostolic Church. We acknowledge one baptism for the forgiveness of sins. We look for the resurrection of the dead, and the life of the world to come. Amen.

* Want more sermons from Immanuel Lutheran Church? Here is the podcast which they update weekly [CLICK HERE!] *

