Weight [Psalm 55:22]

“It’s not the load that breaks you down, it’s the way you carry it.” – Lena Horne

What an interesting quote I found and have been thinking about this week. The load on my shoulders seems pretty heavy right now and although I want to hand it over to God at times I feel as though maybe I deserve the weight or maybe I can handle it or should handle it. The load is heavy and until I dispose of it at my next stop in life I am responsible for getting it there… getting myself there as well.

All of us carry the load in different ways: The “I’m worthless” load drives us to the ground every step we take. The “I am sorry” load can eat us alive as we carry guilt around on your backs. The “I can handle this” load shows pride and that load will continue to be a burden until we are no longer prideful any longer. The “I’m stressed and busy” load that makes us defeated…I could go on and on with the various “loads” we, my self included, carry.

As this quote says though and got me thinking, what if it’s how we carry them?

Ways we carry our loads and typical results: (1) If we try to just power-house through the issue (load) on our own the load will break us down. (2) If we pray about the load -maybe selfishly- we lose and the weight becomes heavier until we truly depend on the Lord. (3) If we go to God in prayer and consciously are making an effort to change to fix our load, whatever that may be, we are letting go of some of the load and laying it on God. This ultimately lightens our load and we are allowing God to carry our load with our faith.

Overall, I believe if we can pick up our cross daily and carry it, then the Lord will pick us up daily and show us that we don’t have to break if we rely on Him (Luke 9:23 “Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me.”) Remember, no matter how heavy the load, it is not the load that breaks us down, it is the way we carry it.

  • Psalm 55:2 “Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.”
  • Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”
  • Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.”
  • Hebrews 12:1 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.”
  • John 16:33 “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

f9c6ed8f60cf658ef7de7fbc77bdd278

