Understanding love [1 John 4:8]

How I understand love: 1. I can love because Christ first loved me.  2. The love I receive is a reflection of Christ’s love, but not even close to the multitude that our Savior offers me.  3. When we love and are loved, we are being prepared to meet the Lord- earthly love doesn’t last but is merely to be used to reflect God.

(1) I can love because Christ first loved me. Can you imagine not being able to love others? Thankfully Christ is showing me daily how he loves me and that gives me the drive to love others more fully and acceptingly. I still struggle through loving those who are most tough to love, and that is where I am trying to improve. If God can love me so much that he forgives every sin I have ever done, then I can learn to love those who have done wrong against me as well.

(2) The love I receive is a reflection of Christ’s love, but not even close to the multitude that our savior offers. It is occurring to me that I feel on top of the world when someone else loves me- such as the times my best friends, siblings, and especially my boyfriend love me abundantly. It’s easy to forget about God and focus on the earthly relationships because those are tangible people in our lives. God offers more love and more comfort, but we often do not realize this until the moments we are feeling alone, disconnected, and companionless.

(3) When we love and are loved, we are being prepared to meet the Lord- earthly love doesn’t last but is merely to be used to reflect God. Love is a commandment, and is an easy way to open up people’s eyes to the Savior. We are able to “fall in love” and be married in order to experience possibly the closest thing to Christ’s love imaginable in a Christ centered relationship. When we are in heaven we will not be married to those we were married to on earth (which can be awfully scary to some people). Sure we may reconnect but we will be in awe and truly in relation with all, and most importantly, realize our love for the Lord is deeper than anything we can experience on earth. Earthly love is meant for higher purposes- 1. to spread Christ’s love to others 2. to experience a glimpse of what God has in store for us in heaven with Him.

Reminding ourselves that God is love will set our relationships with friends, family, and significant others on a whole new level. We can reflect God’s love, as well as receive it from others. What a special tangible feeling that is.

  • 1 John 4:16 “So we have come to know and to believe the love that God has for us. God is love, and whoever abides in love abides in God, and God abides in him.”
  • John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.”
  • 1 John 4:8 “Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.”
  • 1 Peter 4:8 “Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins.”

… & to those of you who are still reading… a little shout out goes to Jon Clark for a crazy fun filled 33 months.            3 more til 3 years!

screen-capture-4

There is this webpage/magazine called Relevant [Click Here]  that you should take a look at if you liked this blog post. They are inspiring and always relate the topic back to a Christian perspective. 

